The Second Chance Tea Shop By Fay Keenan

The Second Chance Tea Shop (Little Somerby)

Second chances, new loves and scrumptious cakes, in this heart-warming novel. Perfect for all fans of Fern Britton, Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.

Folllowing the tragic death of her beloved husband, Anna Hemingway decides it’s time for a fresh start. So Anna and her three-year-old daughter Ellie move to a picture-perfect cottage in the beautiful village of Little Somerby, and when she takes over the running of the village tea shop, Ellie and Anna start to find happiness again.

But things get complicated when Matthew Carter, the owner of the local cider farm, enters their lives. Throughout a whirlwind year of village fetes and ancient wassails, love, laughter, apple pie and new memories, life slowly blossoms again. But when tragedy strikes and history seems to be repeating itself, Anna must find the strength to hold onto the new life she has built.

This beautiful, life-affirming debut novel marks the beginning of the Little Somerby series, and promises to make you smile, cry, reach for a cream tea, and long for a life in the perfect English countryside.

A real feel good read. We sympathize with Anna as she and her 3 year old daughter, Ellie, pick up the pieces after the death of her husband. Although some time has passed, starting over is scary and you tend to question every decision you make. Is it too soon to fall in love again?

Matthew Carter is running his family’s cider business. His brother is MIA and his ex has left for America. Leaving him to manage their little girl, who is now a lovely teenager. He is one of the walking wounded as well, having been cheated on and left, and he has poured everything into work.

Coming back to Little Somerby, where she grew up, Anna is all set to manage the local coffee and pastry shop, The Little Orchard Tea Shop. Getting to know Matthew and learning to trust in love again will take a lot of courage.

But will this new love work? When tragedy strikes, will they come out of it stronger or will it tear them apart?

I really enjoyed all of the characters and the story line of this book. The only thing that kept nagging at me was The Little Orchard Tea Shop, where was the tea? I would have liked to have seen more of the tea and sweets in the story.

All in all it was a charming story.

Thank you Netgalley and Aria!

HIMSELF A NOVEL BY JESS KIDD

Himself: A Novel by [Kidd, Jess]

“A highly unusual tale set in a highly unusual Irish village full of dark secrets…Lushly imagined, delightfully original, and very, very funny, it hurtles along from the very first page” (M.L. Stedman, author of The Light Between Oceans).

Having been abandoned on the steps of an orphanage as an infant, lovable car thief and Dublin charmer Mahony assumed all his life that his mother had simply given him up. But when he receives an anonymous note suggesting that foul play may have led to his mother’s disappearance, he sees only one option: to return to the rural Irish village where he was born and find out what really happened twenty-six years ago.

From the moment he sets foot in Mulderrig, Mahony’s presence turns the village upside down. His uncannily familiar face and outsider ways cause a stir among the locals, who receive him with a mixture of excitement (the women), curiosity (the men), and suspicion (the pious).

Determined to uncover the truth about what happened to his mother, Mahony solicits the help of brash anarchist and retired theater actress Mrs. Cauley. This improbable duo concocts an ingenious plan to get the town talking about the day Mahony’s mother disappeared and are aided and abetted by a cast of eccentric characters, both living and dead.

Himself is a simmering mixture—a blend of the natural everyday and the supernatural, folklore and mystery, and a healthy dose of quintessentially Irish humor. The result is a darkly comic crime story in the tradition of a classic Irish trickster tale, complete with a twisting and turning plot, a small-town rife with secrets, and an infectious love of language and storytelling that is a hallmark of the finest Irish writers.

What an absolutely wonderful story!  A tale of Ireland, magic, secrets and murder!

Mahony and Mrs. Cauley are a delight as they join forces to dig into the past and expose some pretty juicy secrets as well as what happened to Mahony’s mother and just who is his father.

In this tale the dead are as active as the living and as the dead tend to be, they aren’t always dependable, but they can stir things up or point one in the right direction.

I laughed, I cried and I loved this story! The lush descriptions of the land and the characters was perfect. A real joy to read!

Thank you to Netgalley and Simon & Schuster for this book. It will out in March of 2017.

Don’t Tell A Soul by M. William Phelps

Don't Tell a Soul by [Phelps, M. William]

Cherry Walker was a devoted, trusting, uncommonly innocent young woman who loved caring for a neighbor’s little boy. But when she was asked to testify in court against his abusive mother, Cherry never got the chance. She couldn’t lie if her life depended on it—and it did. Cherry’s body was found on the side of a Texas road, after being doused with lighter fluid and set aflame.
 
Attractive, manipulative, and violent, mother of four Kim Cargill had a wealth of dirty secrets she’d do anything to keep hidden. This in-depth account by bestselling investigative journalist M. William Phelps takes you inside Cargill’s shocking trial—and into the mind of one of the most conniving female psychopaths in recent history—and on death row.

Mr. Phelps is the only true crime writer I will read. He is the expert. Somehow he gets inside of the murderous villain explaining how and sometimes why they do what they do, and he also brings the victim, the innocent ones to the forefront fo the story.

Kim Cargill is a narcissist, a psychopath, a sociopath and just a down right mean woman! A horrible mother, abusive to her children and her husbands. A bad egg!

Cherry Walker is the exact opposite. While she may have the mind of a child, she knows right from wrong and isn’t going to compromise herself for Kim. Unfortunately we know from the beginning of the book that Cherry was killed.

And in the end of  this book, that will be who and what you remember. Cherry Walker, who stood up to the hell that was Kim Cargill.

Thank you Netgalley and Penguin Random House for this book!

About The Author

Biography

Crime writer, serial killer expert and New York Times bestselling investigative journalist M. William Phelps is the author of 30 nonfiction books, THE DEAD SOUL, a thriller, and winner of the Excellence in Journalism Award (2013). He consulted on the first season of the Showtime series Dexter, has been profiled in Writer’s Digest, Connecticut Magazine, NY Daily News, NY Post, Newsday, Suspense Magazine, and the Hartford Courant. Winner of the New England Book Festival Award for I’ll Be Watching You and the Editor’s Choice Award from True Crime Book Reviews for Death Trap, Phelps has made over 200 television appearances, including CBS’s Early Show, ABC’s Good Morning America, NBC’s Today Show, The View, TLC, BIO Channel, and History Channel.

Phelps created, produced and starred in the hit Investigation Discovery series Dark Minds; and is one of the stars of ID’s Deadly Women. Radio America called him “the nation’s leading authority on the mind of the female murderer.” Touched by tragedy himself, due to the unsolved murder of his pregnant sister-in-law, Phelps is able to enter the hearts and minds of his subjects like no one else. He lives in a small Connecticut farming community and can be reached at his website, http://www.mwilliamphelps.com.

What We Are Reading! What Are You Reading?

The Shadow Land        From the #1 bestselling author of The Historian comes an engrossing novel that spans the past and the present—and unearths the dark secrets of Bulgaria, a beautiful and haunted country.

House of Shadows: A Novel by [Cornick, Nicola]   The wooded hills of Oxfordshire conceal the remains of the aptly named Ashdown House—a wasted pile of cinders and regret. Once home to the daughter of a king, Ashdown and its secrets will unite three women across four centuries in a tangle of romance, deceit and destiny… 

If I Run (If I Run Series) by [Blackstock, Terri]   Casey knows the truth. But it won’t set her free.

The Trophy Taker (DC Charlotte Stafford Series) by [Flint, Sarah]    He’s watching, waiting… and counting. The next gripping serial killer read in the DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford series, from the bestselling author of Mummy’s Favourite. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

The Simplicity of Cider: A Novel by [Reichert, Amy E.]   Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

I think that will do for the week end. Because it’s raining! Yes, gloomy day means tea and stories!  Have a great weekend and Read a Book!

vangiesupergirl   xxPatricia