A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Advertisements

Bless Her Dead Little Heart by Miranda James *A Southern Ladies Mystery 1*

Bless Her Dead Little Heart (Southern Ladies Mystery, #1)

New York Times bestselling author Miranda James returns to Athena, Mississippi, with an all-new mystery featuring Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce Ducote, two snoopy sisters who are always ready to lend a helping hand. But when a stressed socialite brings murder right to their doorstep, even they have trouble maintaining their Southern hospitality…

With the Mississippi sun beating down, An’gel and Dickce are taking a break to cool off and pet sit their friend Charlie Harris’s cat, Diesel, when their former sorority sister, Rosabelle Sultan, shows up at their door unexpectedly, with her ne’er-do-well adult children not far behind.

Rosabelle’s selfish offspring are desperate to discover what’s in her will, and it soon becomes clear that one of them would kill to get their hands on the inheritance. Suddenly caught up in a deadly tangle of duplicitous suspects and deep-fried motives, it will take all of the sisters’ Southern charm to catch a decidedly ill-mannered killer.

I read this series backwards! I had read the author’s(Dean James) other series the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries, so when I saw there was a Southern Lady Mystery series it was also calling my name.

Miss An’gel and Miss Dickce are elderly ladies living in their family home doing quite well until an old sorority sister shows up at their front door. And you know it’s the one that everyone avoided like the plague. Talk about a drama queen! But when she tells them her family is trying to murder her, the ladies do what all good Southern ladies do and invite her to stay while they figure this out.

What they did not figure on was the parade that followed Rosabelle.

This has to be the most dysfunctional family ever! With the exception of a couple of family members they all look good for murder and more! And now the police won’t let them leave. Dickce and An’gel are going to have to be quick before they find themselves out of commission!

I love these characters. And the crossover with the Cat in the Stacks characters was nice.

Another great job, James!

Familiar Motives by Delia James

A Witch’s Cat Mystery  Book 3 / Berkley Prime Crime October 2017

Familiar Motives (Witch's Cat Mystery, #3)

A new witch and her feline familiar get their fifteen minutes of fame in this enchanting mystery in the national bestselling series…
After learning that she comes from a family of witches–and adopting a familiar named Alistair–artist Annabelle Britton has made beautiful Portsmouth, New Hampshire, her home. Together with her coven, this good witch is trying to put a stop to magic and murder most foul.
When Anna takes Alistair to see local veterinarian Ramona Forsythe, they meet the most famous cat in town: Ruby the Attitude Cat, spokes-feline for a pet food brand. But then Ramona turns up dead, and Ruby goes missing. It seems like the murderer used magical means, so it’s up to Anna and Alistair to catch a killer and cat-napper as only a canny cat can.

Anna is still getting used to being a witch and having some skills with her Vibe. And living with Alistair, who disappears at will.

When Anna takes Alistair to the vet, not only does she meet Ruby the Attitude Cat, but she is witness to a strange and scary conversation when a third-party comes crashing into the Vet’s office claiming the cat is hers.

When the vet turns up dead and Ruby gone, Anna and her coven of characters must work to learn if this was an act of magic and a witch was involved or was this all about greed.

The characters are very real, the story runs very smoothly and Alistair steals the show!

A smart new series I’ll check into more!  This one was featured when it came out last month at my library and I quickly grabbed it.

Check it out and let me know!

Seeds of Revenge By Wendy Tyson * Release Day *

Seeds of Revenge by Wendy Tyson

Book 3 in the GreenHouse Mysteries!

It’s the holiday season, and the mood in Winsome is anything but jolly…

Megan Sawyer is determined to farm year-round. She’s braving a December snowstorm after pitching her greenhouse greens to Philadelphia chefs when she sees a stranger stranded on the side of the road. It’s Merry Chance’s niece Becca, who’s headed to Winsome to sell her “love potions” at holiday events—or so she thinks.

Merry has an ulterior motive in inviting her niece to Winsome, but Merry’s plan to reunite Becca with her estranged father goes awry when Becca’s father turns up dead. Megan soon realizes that Becca was not the only person in Winsome who despised her father. When Megan’s aunt, the famous mystery author, is implicated through her novels, things become personal. Megan must follow the literary clues while sifting through the victim’s sordid past, but can she uncover the truth before someone else in Winsome is murdered?

 

Megan Sawyer is a lawyer from the big city come home to be an organic farmer and run the cafe/mercantile. And on the side, solve the occasional murder or two.

The characters in this book and the series are all well-developed, smart, likeable and very real. A smart cozy.

When Megan drops Becca off at her Aunt Merry’s, the reception is fairly hostile. Leaving Megan wondering what was all that about?

When it begins to look like someone is using her aunt’s books to do some revenge killing, Megan jumps in with both feet and does her best to find out who is doing the killing and if she is next.

Great Job! Strong, edgy with characters as real as you.

Netgalley/Henery Press November 14,

Release Day for Ripley’s How The Finch Stole Christmas! Grab it Today!

This is the sixth book in A Bird Lover’s Mystery series featuring Amy Simms and her store Birds and Bees. Selling all things bird and bee related while poking her little nose in the occasional murder.

It’s Christmas time in Ruby Lake, North Carolina and Kinley’s Christmas House Village is always abuzz with shoppers. Only this year they seem to be protesting more than shopping. When the village is sold to a Mr. Finch, things turn down right foul. He is not a likable person and the town is up in arms over the changes. But was someone upset enough to murder?

It’s not long before Amy is in the thick of things trying to unravel this mystery. And not just for one murder.

With every new installment of this series the characters get better. Ripley peels back another layer on characters we thought we knew but oh how we did not! A great stocking stuffer for the bird lover in your family as well as the cozy mystery fan.

Well Done!

Seeds of Revenge by Wendy Tyson

Seeds of Revenge (A Greenhouse Mystery, #3)

This is the third book in the Greenhouse mysteries by Wendy Tyson.

Megan Sawyer is determined to farm year-round. She’s braving a December snowstorm after pitching her greenhouse greens to Philadelphia chefs when she sees a stranger stranded on the side of the road. It’s Merry Chance’s niece Becca, who’s headed to Winsome to sell her “love potions” at holiday events—or so she thinks.

Merry has an ulterior motive in inviting her niece to Winsome, but Merry’s plan to reunite Becca with her estranged father goes awry when Becca’s father turns up dead. Megan soon realizes that Becca was not the only person in Winsome who despised her father. When Megan’s aunt, the famous mystery author, is implicated through her novels, things become personal. Megan must follow the literary clues while sifting through the victim’s sordid past, but can she uncover the truth before someone else in Winsome is murdered?

Megan Sawyer is a lawyer from the big city come home to be an organic farmer and run the cafe/mercantile. And on the side, solve the occasional murder or two.

The characters in this book and the series are all well-developed, smart, likeable and very real. A smart cozy.

When Megan drops Becca off at her Aunt Merry’s, the reception is fairly hostile. Leaving Megan wondering what was all that about?

When it begins to look like someone is using her aunt’s books to do some revenge killing, Megan jumps in with both feet and does her best to find out who is doing the killing and if she is next.

Great Job! Strong, edgy with characters as real as you.

Netgalley/Henery Press November 14,2017

How The Finch Stole Christmas by J.R.Ripley (A Bird Lover’s Mystery)

How the Finch Stole Christmas (A Bird Lover's Mystery #6)

This is the sixth book in A Bird Lover’s Mystery series featuring Amy Simms and her store Birds and Bees. Selling all things bird and bee related while poking her little nose in the occasional murder.

It’s Christmas time in Ruby Lake, North Carolina and Kinley’s Christmas House Village is always abuzz with shoppers. Only this year they seem to be protesting more than shopping. When the village is sold to a Mr. Finch, things turn down right foul. He is not a likable person and the town is up in arms over the changes. But was someone upset enough to murder?

It’s not long before Amy is in the thick of things trying to unravel this mystery. And not just for one murder.

With every new installment of this series the characters get better. Ripley peels back another layer on characters we thought we knew but oh how we did not! A great stocking stuffer for the bird lover in your family as well as the cozy mystery fan.

Well Done!

Netgalley/Kensington/Lyrical Underground  November 14, 2017