Funeral Parlors, Emergency Rooms, Drugs and Obsessions with a Merman. So What Are You Reading?

A Grave Issue: A Funeral Parlor Mystery by [Lillian Bell]   A new series by Lillian Bell that is right up my reading alley! A Funeral Parlor Mystery! I’ve just started this one and already I’m hooked!

No One Can Know: A Stillwater General Mystery by [Lucy Kerr] A Stillwater General Mystery is looking interesting as well.

Gods of Howl Mountain: A Novel by [Brown, Taylor] “A fresh, authentic, and eloquent new voice in American fiction.” – Robert Morgan, New York Times bestselling author of Gap Creek

The Pisces: A Novel by [Broder, Melissa] An uproariously funny, gloriously strange, fiercely original tale of love, obsession, sex…and a merman

These are what I’m reading for the next few days. A little bit of everything thrown in there. My Cozy Authors Group tells me I will love the funeral parlor one and they are almost always right.

What are you reading or writing this week? I also read a new book titled EAT YOUR VEGETABLES; BOLD RECIPES FOR THE SINGLE COOK and it sucked. Seriously the only thing in there I would consider eating is the beans. One recipe for beans, as if we don’t know how to run a slow cooker. Very disappointing.

Have yourself a lovely Sunday! Grab a book and go on an adventure!

xx Patricia

Advertisements

Booked For The Weekend!

Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

Lucy Kerr’s riveting second Stillwater General Mystery,No One Can Know.

My name is Mary Seymour and I am the daughter of one queen and the niece of another.”

The #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of the psychological thriller makes all the right moves in this new novel of spellbinding suspense.

Although the sun is shining brightly this morning, it is still in the 30’s so I have these books to keep me warm this weekend. The first Saturday we have had off together in 3 years! So of course the sun is making a promise she can’t keep. If it’s going to be cold the sun shouldn’t advertise warmth!

xx Patricia   Grab a book and a cup!

Monday, The Step-Child of the Week Days!

bluemood

There is just something about Monday. Most people would rather skip it but as mature adults we must turn off the alarm and stumble to the tea/coffee pot.

The hubs is changing his hours from being off Tuesday and Wednesday to being off Friday and Saturday. To get to that he has to work 12 days in a row or something similar. So Monday will continue to be a work day. Although he actually gets dressed and goes to work. While I stumble out of bed, brush my teeth, grab my tea and head to my office in my jammies. Any change in schedule throws the Anxiety Fairy into high gear but for some reason she just hasn’t shown up. That’s a win in my book!

This week-end I finished The Silent Girls by Dylan Young with bookouture and Perish by Lisa Black with Kensington. Both bloody, messy, serial killers and I loved every gory minute of it. I actually had two Kindles going and my Amazon Fire, so if anyone’s battery was getting low I could just grab another device. That’s how good these were. They both come out this month.

Today I’m starting I’ll Stay by Karen Cleveland.  Enjoy your Monday, be full of gratitude that you woke up!

xx Patricia

I Think I Love The Rain Because I’m A Mermaid Too Far From The Ocean

1490452918633

Anticipating the rain as the clouds are gray and heavy this morning. There really is nothing like a good book, a nice cozy nook and a good cup of coffee or tea. And on a Sunday? That’s just about perfect.

With the house already full of the smell of bean soup and all my chores complete, I’m tucking into a seriously disturbed mind of a serial killer. This guy is Silence of the Lambs good! I want to go to prison and talk to him. And I have a feeling this won’t be the last we see of this character and his creator.

Today I’m taking a break to enjoy the day. And plan for the National Championship game between Georgia and Alabama. I’m already wearing my Dawgs shirt and this game could get ugly with our rivalry.

Enjoy your Sunday! Read a book!

xx Patricia

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Hello Monday, What’s Everyone Reading This Week?

Surprise Me Coming in February!

 

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Coming March 6, 2018

The Undertaker's Daughter (Untitled #1)  Coming February 6, 2018

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters Coming December 5, 2018

Two Girls Down Coming January of 2018

These are my books for the week. What have you got on your TBR list today? I really need some suggestions on series for 13-year-old girls. Preferably a series. She’s going to be grounded a long time with no phone.

xx  Patricia    Enjoy this Clean Slate Monday!