The First Kiss of Spring ~An Eternity Springs Novel~ By EMILY MARCH

The First Kiss of Spring (Eternity Springs #14)

Spring has come to Eternity Springs in the newest installment in this New York Times bestselling series by Emily March.

When Josh Tarkington gets stuck on a gondola with the lovely Caitlin Timberlake, he thinks his consistently bad luck might have changed.

After their blossoming romance is interrupted, Caitlin realizes that her encounter with Josh was a sign that she needed to make a major life change. So she packs up her things and moves to Eternity Springs, opens a day care, and sets her cap for the town’s mechanic—Josh.

But Josh is hiding a well of secrets that would ruin him, and his relationship with everyone in Eternity Springs—especially Caitlin. When tragedy strikes, Josh and Caitlin find themselves, and their relationship, tested beyond imagining. Will they be able to find their way back to each other?

The latest in the series centered around Eternity Springs.

The minute Caitlin kissed Josh she knew she was going to marry that man!

With fair warning to Josh that he should be prepared to surrender, she set out to make him her own. But Josh has made up his mind to never fall in love or get married.

Josh has been fighting demons for a long time. And it sure seems as if bad luck is on his heels. Coming from Oklahoma’s Tornado Alley, he has had his heart destroyed as well as his business and home. Not once, but several times. Just when he seems to be making a home and a good name for himself and his business, little Miss Caitlin drops in his lap, and he has some serious thinking to do!

Caitlin is busy setting up her new daycare business, plotting to make Josh her own, and wondering what the heck is up with her parents who are acting awfully strange.

When everything hits the fan, will family and love win? You’ll have to read the book. And I loved every bit of it!

Netgalley/St.Martin’s   February 27, 2018

Advertisements

MAYBE THIS TIME~A Whiskey and Wedding Novel~By Nicole McLaughlin

Maybe This Time (Whiskey and Weddings, #2)

Jen Mackenzie has been knocked down more than a few times, but she always gets up and makes sure she has the last word. It’s the reason she now considers herself equal parts self-sufficient and free-spirit. But since losing her job and trying to help her mother beat cancer, real life―and her occasional careless choices―have begun to catch up with her. Her one saving grace: The Stag, a boutique distillery that has become Kansas City’s go-to wedding venue. The only catch: One of the owners, TJ Laughlin, happens to be the one man who somehow manages to make Jen feel inadequate.

TJ has secretly had a thing for Jen since high school. Now, as her new boss, it’s a daily struggle between revealing his feelings and wringing her beautiful neck. Only one thing is for certain: he can’t stand idly by and watch the woman he cares for struggle. She may be convinced that accepting TJ’s help is a weakness. But all he sees in Jen is beauty and strength, inside and out. As things finally heat up between them, can TJ find a way to convince Jen that love is about give and take―and having it all, together?

This is the second book in the Whiskey and Weddings Series.

Jen has had a hard life growing up on the wrong side of town and developed a hard shell around her heart. In high school she was the odd one. Until the entire school found out she had a talent. All she wants is to act and sing in theater and when that dream closes she does the best she can to take care of her mother and herself, but she’s made some bad financial choices and she’s suspicious of any kindness towards her.

TJ seems like the perfect guy. Rich parents, huge home, owns his own business and is in all accounts perfect. But what he sees is his distant, philandering father, his alcoholic mother and feeling like he will never measure up to his siblings.

Can two slightly damaged people open their hearts to love? Well you have to read the book!  This was a good read. I love the characters, there was a lot of depth there and I can’t wait to see who is next to take the plunge in the next book!

Well Done!

Netgalley/St.Martin’s Press   February 27,2018

THE WITCHES OF CAMBRIDGE by MENNA VAN PRAAG

The Witches of Cambridge: A Novel by [van Praag, Menna]

For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Witches of Cambridge reveals an astonishing world where the heart’s deepest secrets give way to the magic of life-changing love.

Be careful what you wish for. If you’re a witch, you might just get it.

Amandine Bisset has always had the power to feel the emotions of those around her. It’s a secret she can share only with her friends—all professors, all witches—when they gather for the Cambridge University Society of Literature and Witchcraft. Amandine treasures these meetings but lately senses the ties among her colleagues beginning to unravel. If only she had her student Noa’s power to hear the innermost thoughts of others, she might know how to patch things up. Unfortunately, Noa regards her gift as a curse. So when a seductive artist claims he can cure her, Noa jumps at the chance, no matter the cost.

Noa’s not the only witch who’s in over her head. Mathematics professor Kat has a serious case of unrequited love but refuses to cast spells to win anyone’s heart. Kat’s sister, Cosima, is not above using magic to get what she wants, sprinkling pastries in her bakery with equal parts sugar and enchantment. But when Cosima sets her sights on Kat’s crush, she conjures up a dangerous love triangle.

As romance and longing swirl through every picturesque side street, the witches of Cambridge find their lives unexpectedly upended and changed in ways sometimes extraordinary, sometimes heartbreaking, but always enchanting.

Magical Realism is what the author calls her writing. I call it really, really good! This author was recommended by a lovely lady over at insearchofitall

Now that I know about this author and her books, I’ve ordered them all! That is how much I loved this book. It’s smart, funny, heartbreaking and a well written story. My next one to read is The Dress Shop of Dreams.

Now to get back to the TBR pile….maybe it will magically disappear!

xx Patricia

 

Surprise Me! by Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have all the trimmings of a happy life and marriage; they have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other’s sentences. However, a trip to the doctor projects they will live another 68 years together and panic sets in. They never expected “until death do us part” to mean seven decades.

In the name of marriage survival, they quickly concoct a plan to keep their relationship fresh and exciting: they will create little surprises for each other so that their (extended) years together will never become boring. But in their pursuit to execute Project Surprise Me, mishaps arise and secrets are uncovered that start to threaten the very foundation of their unshakable bond. When a scandal from the past is revealed that question some important untold truths, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all.

Everyone knows that Sophie’s books are my guilty pleasure! And this one didn’t disappoint.

Sylvie and Dan have been married 10 years now. With adorable girls and jobs they enjoy. After an annual check up they are both given a clean bill of health and told they would probably live a nice long life. Which leads them to question how they are going to keep this thing going for the next 7 decades!

The characters in the book are all hilarious in their own way and some of the “surprises” they come up with are beyond funny! And embarrassing.

When Sylvie suspects Dan of an affair things come out that have been hidden for years. Which leads Sylvie to ask if she ever really knew her family at all or has she been carrying around a little girl’s view of her family?

This was great fun with a bit of mystery thrown in, so go ahead and Surprise Me! anytime Ms. Kinsella!

February 13, 2018  Netgalley/DialPress

What’s Everyone Reading This Week?

The First Family: A Novel by [Palmer, Michael, Palmer, Daniel] “The First Family is adrenaline-fueled entertainment that twists, turns, surprises and satisfies!” -John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author

Baby Teeth: A Novel by [Stage, Zoje] “Unnerving and unputdownable, Baby Teeth will get under your skin and keep you trapped in its chilling grip until the shocking conclusion.” —New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline.

After Anna by [Scottoline, Lisa] “Readers can be assured that the author nails the high school milieu, from athletic rivalries to sexting…they’re in for one thrilling ride.” —Kirkus on One Perfect Lie

The Recipe Box: A Novel by [Shipman, Viola] In The Recipe Box, bestselling beloved author Viola Shipman spins a tale about a lost young woman and the family recipe box that changes her life.

What is everyone reading this week? I am finishing up The Recipe Box and as always it is a charmer!  We are in Day 5 of The Plague here at the Pirate Nation. Never in my life have I had to put new batteries in my thermometer! Good news  is I have books!

xx Patricia

Should’ve Been You by Nicole McLaughlin

Should've Been You (Man Enough, #3)

Childhood neighbors get a chance at love in Should’ve Been You, an achingly romantic novella in Nicole McLaughlin’s Man Enough series!

National Guardsman Jase Beckford wants to live a quiet life raising cattle and taking care of his mother. His childhood friend and neighbor Hannah is still his best friend, but when he walks into the Walters house one morning and sees her twin sister Becca for the first time in five years, he wonders if he missed out on something special.

Becca Walters has nursed a secret crush on Jase since childhood, but he always preferred Hannah, so she buried her feelings assuming her sister and Jase would one day turn their flirtation into a real relationship. And this Christmas, she is anticipating a proposal of her own, so Jase’s reappearance in her life doesn’t mean anything. Much. Okay, maybe more than Becca would like to admit.

However, when Becca’s sister gets engaged to someone who’s not Jase, Becca and Jase find themselves spending more together. And when secrets are revealed, suddenly those dormant feelings come back to life; but is the possibility of something between them worth risking the happiness of everyone they love?

This was a sweet story.  High School is over and the three friends have gone their own ways. Hannah is still best friends with Jase, but it seems rather one-sided as she uses him to get her out of jams and as a plus one. But Jase wants more and always has.

He was always romantically interested in Becca, not Hannah, but one small lie led Jase to believe she did not return those feelings and both moved on but never lost that feeling that they could have been something.

Can this homecoming Christmas fix the past and lead to love? It just might!

Netgalley/Swerve     January 30, 2018