BEFORE AND AGAIN by BARBARA DELINSKY

Before and Again

Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment but the resulting collision was enough to rob her not only of her beloved daughter but ultimately of her marriage, family, and friends―and thanks to the nonstop media coverage, even her privacy. Now she lives in Vermont under the name Maggie Reid, in a small house with her cats and dog. She’s thankful for the new friends she’s made―though she can’t risk telling them too much. And she takes satisfaction in working as a makeup artist at the luxurious local spa, helping clients hide the visible outward signs of their weariness, illnesses, and injuries. Covering up scars is a skill she has mastered.

Her only goal is to stay under the radar and make it through her remaining probation. But she isn’t the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend’s teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, accused of hacking a powerful man’s Twitter account, Maggie is torn between pulling away and protecting herself―or stepping into the glare to be at their side. As the stunning truth behind their case is slowly revealed, Maggie’s own carefully constructed story begins to unravel as well. She knows all too well that what we need from each other in this difficult world is comfort. But to provide it, sometimes we need to travel far outside our comfort zones.

Very few people can pull every emotion you have out of you in one afternoon. My heart ached for Maggie and the enormous amount of guilt she is living with. Still a few months shy of her probation being over, she has a decision to make. Will she protect her self and her own heart or will she stand by her friend?

This town of Devon that Maggie has claimed as her own safe space is full of characters hiding from something. And when her ex-husband shows up she is sure one of them must leave. She has built a protective shell around her heart and he is determined to break through.

With twists and turns around every corner I couldn’t stop reading. I’m glad I read this.

Very Well Done!

Netgalley/ June 26th 2018 by St. Martin’s Press

Advertisements

Beach House Reunion by Mary Alice Monroe

Beach House Reunion (Beach House #5)

Whisking you back to the shores of her bestselling Beach House series, Mary Alice Monroe weaves together a tale of the struggles and triumphs of the historic Rutledge family of Charleston, South Carolina. Beautifully wrought and rich with keen insight, this is an illuminating tale of new beginnings, resilience, and one family’s enduring love.

I am so happy that Cara is back home on Isle of Palms. And she brought a pretty great surprise with her! Facing memories of her late husband and the special bond they had, as well as wishing her mother, Lovie, was still here to give her advice, she plows forward much like her beloved Loggerhead Turtles.

While she settles back into life at Primrose Cottage, her niece, Linnea, has graduated from college and is at loose ends. Feeling stifled in her family’s Charleston mansion, she heads to the beach. Home to Cara and Primrose. With no expectations to be anything other than happy.

With new love a possibility and her mother to guide her, Cara will pull her family together and break a long cycle of bad behavior, freeing them all to be who they are and live their best lives.

This series is so loving and beautiful. While the bad habits in a family can be broken, the strong bonds of these women can not. Very well done!

Netgalley/SimonandSchuster May 22, 2018

“WE’LL SING IN THE SUNSHINE…”

1500214939951

Happy Sunday! It’s a beautiful day to be outside, at the lake or the pool with a good book and a good drink!

I’m bouncing between two books right now. Rush by Lisa Patton and The Vintage TeaCup Club by Vanessa Greene. Two very different books.

Hard to believe it is almost May. I have a busy week ahead so today I’m taking my books and heading to the pool to read and hopefully get some sun on my pale legs!

If you’ve read a good book lately, let me know! And enjoy your Sunday.

xx Patricia

the recipe box by Viola Shipman

The Recipe Box: A Novel

Bestselling, beloved author of The Charm Bracelet spins a tale about a lost young woman and the family recipe box that changes her life.

“But sometimes-at the strangest times- I think God forces us to stop for a moment, be still and reflect on our lives. Either we choose to pay attention or we don’t…and I think that often determines the path we take.”

Sam couldn’t wait to get out of Michigan and her family’s orchard and pie baking business. She had much grander dreams of being a chef in the big city. But after working for an ungrateful and just plain not nice Chef, she is ready to come home for a bit.

While Sam feels around for her own place in the world, her mother and grandmother share their recipe boxes and baking and as always with Shipman, sage advice and stories of family, love, relationships between mothers and daughters and how sometimes you may just need to take a second, and realize that everything you want has been right there in front of you.

The food descriptions are scrumptious! Oh my goodness I think at one point I was crying and drooling at the same time!

Excellent job as always!

NetGalley/March 20th 2018 by Thomas Dunne Books

AND GREEN IS MY FAVORITE TODAY

greenthoughts

Since I don’t have a Book Review due today, I thought I would just take all those Blog Awards and mush them together and answer the questions!

How did this Blog begin? Because people get annoyed when you are constantly giving them your opinion on what they are reading while in public.

How many books do you read? A lot. And most of them don’t even make it to the blog for one reason or another. Good or Bad, the ones I’m obligated to do go on the Blog.

Things about me:

I hate cats. Horrible allergies but I really just don’t like them although people compare me to one.

I don’t eat meat.

My closet is organized by color/fabric/function. I am compulsively neat.

I despise Romance Books. Same man with the same abs on every cover.

I have a very morbid sense of humor.

I have no patience with pretentious people. Or as my Momma calls it people who put on airs. Favorite saying to those people? You’re pretty uppity for someone who doesn’t even have a job.

I love tea! Shocking, I know.

I play the piano. 

I ride horses.

I do not do reviews through the author. Don’t ask.

I own 23 formals. I have a life at night that I know nothing about it would seem.

My favorite color is pink. And Green.

Favorite Movies….Resident Evil, Any Avengers, Gone With The Wind, The Secret of Roan Inish, and Saving Grace ( the UK one) the original Paren Trap

Favorite Music….Halestorm,Paramour, Post Malone, Imagine Dragons, Grunge, Celtic. Basically anything except Country.

So there you go. All of them rolled into one. Now I’m off to review the new LSAT Study Guide. Exciting stuff here! And if anyone needs any study guides for tests, let me know! They need to go to a new home.

xx Patricia

 

 

 

GODS OF HOWL MOUNTAIN by TAYLOR BROWN

Gods of Howl Mountain

In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

Bootlegger Rory Docherty has returned home to the fabled mountain of his childhood – a misty wilderness that holds its secrets close and keeps the outside world at gunpoint. Slowed by a wooden leg and haunted by memories of the Korean War, Rory runs bootleg whiskey for a powerful mountain clan in a retro-fitted ’40 Ford coupe. Between deliveries to roadhouses, brothels, and private clients, he lives with his formidable grandmother, evades federal agents, and stokes the wrath of a rival runner.

In the mill town at the foot of the mountains – a hotbed of violence, moonshine, and the burgeoning sport of stock-car racing – Rory is bewitched by the mysterious daughter of a snake-handling preacher. His grandmother, Maybelline “Granny May” Docherty, opposes this match for her own reasons, believing that “some things are best left buried.” A folk healer whose powers are rumored to rival those of a wood witch, she concocts potions and cures for the people of the mountains while harboring an explosive secret about Rory’s mother – the truth behind her long confinement in a mental hospital, during which time she has not spoken one word. When Rory’s life is threatened, Granny must decide whether to reveal what she knows…or protect her only grandson from the past.

With gritty and atmospheric prose, Taylor Brown brings to life a perilous mountain and the family who rules it.

It’s the 1950’s in Howl Mountain,North Carolina. Rory is back from the Korean War, minus one leg, but alive. Living with his grandmother up on the mountain, making a living running shine and trying to evade the government men and the competition.

His mother is in a mental institution and hasn’t spoken a word since she was sentenced there. Only she knows what really happened to put her there. There are many stories and secrets that everyone would just like to see stay buried. And Granny is one of those.

How far will things go before she may have to take action?

This is the first of Brown’s books that I have read, but not the last. Great Job!

NetGalley/St.Martin’s Press March 20, 2018

Playing With Bonbon Fire By Dorthy St. James (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery)

Playing With Bonbon Fire (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #2)

Chocoholic Charity Penn must smoke out the killer to stop her newly inherited beachside chocolate shop from going up in flames in Dorothy St. James’ decadent follow-up to Asking for Truffle.

Chocolate shop owner Charity Penn is finally settling into life in the quirky South Carolina seaside town of Camellia Beach cooking up chocolate treats. She’s even helped organize the town’s lively beach music festival which has brought rollicking crowds eager to dance the Carolina shag. That is, until one of the band’s lead singers is found dead beside a beach bonfire.

While also trying to balance the amorous attention of music star Bixby Lewis, in town for the festival, and her quest to perfect a new hot flavored bonbon, Charity dives into the investigation. Though it’s more spice than sugar when she discovers a threatening note, comes across decades of age-old secrets, and Bixby comes into the line of fire when a gas grill explodes on the deck of a beachfront house.

Now Charity must turn up the heat and catch the killer before her chance melts away in Playing With Bonbon Fire, the delightful second Chocolate Shop mystery served up just right for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

The second installment of the Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries has Penn trying to continue her Grandmother’s business, The Chocolate Box. Known for their decadent chocolate bonbons. As hard as she tries it’s just not coming easy to her.
But with her partner Bertie doing most of the creating in the kitchen, Penn has free time to plan a music festival on the island featuring local talent as well as a famous rock star. Much like her fledgling efforts to create mouth-watering bonbons, things aren’t going as planned!
When more than wood goes in the bonfire, she finds herself being targeted by a killer. Or is it someone close to her? When her half-sister flies into town to find out what is going on, they both get to work trying to solve the murder as well as trying to find what happened to Penn’s mother. Which is a continuing story line within the series.
This tale brought back so many happy memories playing on the islands around Charleston. My mother and her sister winning prizes for the Shag! Any time a book brings a smile to my face, it’s a good read!
Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books   March 13, 2018