The MERRY SPINSTER~TALES of EVERYDAY HORROR BY MALLORY ORTBERG

The Merry Spinster: Tales of Everyday Horror

From Mallory Ortberg comes a collection of darkly mischievous stories based on classic fairy tales. Adapted from her beloved “Children’s Stories Made Horrific” series, “The Merry Spinster” takes up the trademark wit that endeared Ortberg to readers of both The Toast and her best-selling debut Texts From Jane Eyre. The feature become among the most popular on the site, with each entry bringing in tens of thousands of views, as the stories proved a perfect vehicle for Ortberg’s eye for deconstruction and destabilization. Sinister and inviting, familiar and alien all at the same time, The Merry Spinster updates traditional children’s stories and fairy tales with elements of psychological horror, emotional clarity, and a keen sense of feminist mischief.

Readers of The Toast will instantly recognize Ortberg’s boisterous good humor and uber-nerd swagger: those new to Ortberg’s oeuvre will delight in her unique spin on fiction, where something a bit mischievous and unsettling is always at work just beneath the surface.

Unfalteringly faithful to its beloved source material, The Merry Spinster also illuminates the unsuspected, and frequently, alarming emotional complexities at play in the stories we tell ourselves, and each other, as we tuck ourselves in for the night.

Bed time will never be the same.

Mallory brings us a collection of short tales based on fairy tales, with a twist!

I really enjoy her writing style. It’s almost as if she is having so much fun writing that her joy spills all over the page!

If you are expecting some lovely version of your favorite fairy tale, that would be a mistake. There is nothing pretty and Disney about her version. It’s horror, pure and simple.

The innocent Velveteen Rabbit? Never again will I look at that book the same! Mallory puts her unique spin on her versions, both feminist and queer (her words). And as horrified as I was starting with The Little Mermaid, I still laughed until I cried and enjoyed every moment.

Check out her writing and see if you get hooked!

Well Done!    Netgalley/Holt Paperbacks   March 13, 2018

Image result for mallory ortberg
Advertisements

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Strange Practice: A Greta Helsing Novel by Vivian Shaw

Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1)

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

Greta Helsing inherited the family’s highly specialized, and highly peculiar, medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills – vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been groomed for since childhood.

Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.

As the first in this new urban fantasy genre featuring Dr. Greta Helsing, this was quite unlike any I had read before. Yes, the Helsing is from the Van Helsing, but instead of hunting down vampires and sending them to the great beyond, Greta is a physician to the undead. Vampires, Vampyres ( yes there is a difference), ghouls, banshees, demons, mummies,werewolves, you name it and she probably treats it.

The core group of  undead in the book are a colorful and mostly likeable group. When one of their own is attacked and is unable to heal himself, Greta is called in. He has been stabbed with an odd cross-shaped blade containing some type of poison.

There are  a few things going on here at the same time. A killer is loose in London, leaving bodies with cheap rosaries in their mouths. What do these murders have to do with the rogue group of monks murdering undead and human? And what kind of power do these so-called monks have with their weird glowing eyes and murderous ways?

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and all of the characters. Greta was a bit of a hard one to read in the beginning but by the middle I was enjoying each and every one of them. I mean who knew there were little ghoulettes? Baby ghouls! And making functioning limbs for mummies. There was a lot of fun reading going on with this one and having read the tease for the next one, I will be reading it too!

Well done Ms. Shaw!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Books Just Keep On Coming!

The Curious Affair of the Witch at Wayside Cross (The Curious Affair Of, #2)  A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings, #1) Little Secrets

The Slave-Trader's Letter-Book: Charles Lamar, the Wanderer, and Other Tales of the African Slave Trade Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1)

Just a few of the books I’m reading now and the ones TBR. I am actually reading 2 books from 2 different genres so I’m not getting mixed up on who is who! So far the Strange Practice is quite good! This new series from Kevin Hearne is a slow starter but we’ll see how it goes!

What has everyone else got on the TBR shelf that I need to get?

xx Patricia

 

What’s on the Reading List this week?

1491657022506

Well last week’s books are done. Reviews in the draft folder waiting for release days. All in all they were pretty good. I only had one that was a waste of time, but the sad part is that it could have been good. Sometimes we forget quality is better than quantity.

So this week we have:

The Dark Lake by [Bailey, Sarah]

Sweet Tea and Sympathy (Southern Eclectic Book 1) by [Harper, Molly]

Scion of the Fox: The Realms of Ancient, Book 1 (Realms of Ancient, The) by [Beiko, S. M.]

A lot of different genres here but I think they are all going to be good! I just finished Catherine Coulter’s Enigma. One of the FBI Series that I adore. And it was really good! More about that later!

xx Patricia

 

A FEW OF THE BEST PLOT TWISTS AND SHOCKERS I’VE READ!

I read a lot of Suspense/Thrillers and these are just a few of the ones that had me picking my jaw up off the floor and screaming What???  And that is not easy for those of us who read a ton of this genre! So if you liked them let me know and if you haven’t read one, hey, it’s summer….give one a try!

Years after Amir betrayed his childhood friend Hassan, he sets out to reconcile their past — but learns in so many surprising ways how a single event could alter both their lives forever. This book cracked my heart wide open and left my jaw on the floor too many times to count.

  Sara and Brian Fitzgerald’s life with their young son and their two-year-old daughter, Kate, is forever altered when they learn that Kate has leukemia. The parents’ only hope is to conceive another child, specifically intended to save Kate’s life. For some, such genetic engineering would raise both moral and ethical questions; for the Fitzgeralds, Sara in particular, there is no choice but to do whatever it takes to keep Kate alive.  I love/hate this book!!!

We Were Liars by [Lockhart, E.]

A girl who knows she had an accident the summer before, but cannot remember what happened…. Her revelations and the entire ending left me so shocked that I put the book in a time out for a good ten minutes before I furiously looked through the beginning of the book to see what subtle hints I had missed (there were a ton)! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a story that causes you to become so invested that your only choice is to finish the book in one sitting.

—Allie Lily

 The main character is investigating the recent death of her husband when she discovers that it’s connected to the brutal murder of her sister years ago. And are they both somehow related to the suspicious suicide of her husband’s brother? Coben is one of my favorite authors. And this was a jaw dropper ending! I wish he would make some his television series here in the US, but if you have Sky TV watch The Five or Juste Un Regard. I was lucky to have a friend in the UK who would Skype The Five with me and it is a mind blower!

 It is about a dystopian world where people are divided by blood: silver for the higher social order with supernatural powers and red for the poor and maltreated. When Mare, an ordinary red-blooded girl, discovers that she has silver powers, everything is changed forever. The big twist is just so unpredictable and unexpected that it makes you stop for at least 20 minutes to stare at the wall and just be amazed. As Aveyard says: Anyone can betray anyone.

 During a picnic at her family’s farm in the English countryside, 16-year-old Laurel Nicolson witnesses a shocking crime, a crime that challenges everything she knows about her adored mother, Dorothy. Now, 50 years later, Laurel and her sisters are meeting at the farm to celebrate Dorothy’s 90th birthday. Realizing that this is her last chance to discover the truth about that long-ago day, Laurel searches for answers that can only be found in Dorothy’s past.  One of those shockers that have you staring into space for a bit afterwards!

Happy Reading!

What Are You Reading This Month?

These are some of the reads from Netgalley I’m reading as well as about 15 hard copies and 2 Beta reads. So my June is pretty full! I really am in need of some recommendations for that 8 to 10 age group of girls. Nothing sexual, just some good series reads.

                        

      

  

So what are you all reading this month? Any good recommendations for me?

xx Happy Reading!   Patricia