Bleaker House: Chasing My Novel to the End of the World by Nell Stevens *Release Day*

Bleaker House: Chasing My Novel to the End of the World

Ms. Stevens does have a way with words! The descriptions of the Falklands was very well done.

This was rather a cross between a memoir and a travel journal in my opinion. The story of a woman who wants to write a novel. Nothing to date has worked so when offered the opportunity to go anywhere she would like for 6 weeks to focus solely on her writing, she chooses the Falklands, thinking the solitude will force her to put ink to paper and return home with a completed novel.

She rations everything. Even counting raisins. I’m not sure if she finished the novel or not. I’m thinking not. There were a few short stories that were put in and I’m not sure why. I didn’t feel as if I knew what was going on during those times. This may have been deliberate as the writer wasn’t clear on what she was doing either.

A good read for writers. They should be able to identify with the difficulties, excuses, joys, frustration and utter nonsense that they go through to write a novel.

Thank you To Netgalley for this early copy.This novel is set for release on March 14, 2017

One thought on “Bleaker House: Chasing My Novel to the End of the World by Nell Stevens *Release Day*

Leave a Reply

