So What Would You Take?

We were talking last night in the Book Club about what 3 books we would pack if we had to be on the run for 10 years. These would be the only thing we could read. This is my first one. Obviously. I’m a Georgia girl. I remember the first time I read this book. I was being even more annoying than usual to my parents and my father left me at the library.

I was given this book by the Librarian. Along with her unsolicited opnionΒ that she was quite sure Ms. Mitchell had written this book just about naughty girls like me. How shocked she was when I finally returned it and told her I had indeed read the entire thing and I had seen the movie also and I was going to be Scarlett when I grew up, because she was the smartest and strongest woman I had ever seen!

So what are your three books? Think hard now, 10 years is a long time!!

xxP

22 thoughts on “So What Would You Take?

  1. I would probably cheat and bring my kindle…. πŸ™‚ but for the sake of the question let’s say I had to go offline to get off the grid. I’d bring “The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” “The Count of Monte Cristo,” and probably “War and Peace.” *War and Peace because I’ve never taken the time to read it and the 10 years on the run might just be enough πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. LOL – GREAT idea! I would bring along The Brothers Karamazov for a related reason – maybe I could finally sort out all those Russian names! I’m still noodling, however. I’d probably settle on something brain-based, unless this is an all-fiction challenge.
      xx,
      mgh
      (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
      – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
      “It takes a village to educate a world!”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tough one. It’s a list that constantly changes, but right now it would probably be: The House of Spirits, One Hundred Years of Solitude, and The Brothers Karamazov (or The Master and Margarita).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, this is a good one! I think I would have to take Jodi Picoult’s “Second Glance” I reread it all the time. Probably once every 6 months I reread it. Also I would have to take probably the first book of the series “The Infernal Devices” by Cassandra Clare, unless a whole series counts as one? =D I would also take with me, “The best of The Archies Comic” I grew up on them and I can’t imagine not be able to read them! I’ve still got a lot of the same comics, I’ve had since childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Patty! I love the last quote especially. Can you believe I haven’t read Gone with the Wind?

    Hmm, I’m not sure what I’d take with me, would need to think about it. Probably “Forgiveness: The Key to the Kingdom” by John-Roger. And also “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. And maybe a joke book to keep me smiling. πŸ™‚

    Lots of blessings to you — have a good weekend,
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

