WRONG NUMBER by Carys Jones *Release Day*!

Wrong Number

A missing husband. Mysterious calls. And the biggest lie of them all.
Read with caution – you may never want to answer your phone again…

Will and Amanda Thorne are living the dream until, one day, their phone rings. Within 24 hours, Will is missing and Amanda’s world is shattered. Who was on the phone? Where has Will gone?

Amanda is determined to find her husband and is drawn into a world of drug dealers, criminal masterminds and broken promises.

As the truth becomes clearer, she has to face the terrible possibility that she may never have known her husband at all…

So that is the Book Blurb for Wrong Number, which is new out this month.

This book reminded me of the duck swimming placidly on a pond, while underneath the water his little duck feet are churning furiously, I wanted to see more of what was under the water.

After I finished the book I went back and re-read the Blurb.  Mainly because I figured this out after the first wrong number call. And there was just one. Not a string of mysterious calls. While billed as a psychological thriller, I didn’t care enough about the character for it to be thrilling.

It’s very difficult to review this one without telling you the story. As a whole, I didn’t feel it was a waste of my time to read it. I would have liked to have more backstory on the characters since their pasts heavily influenced the plot.

Thank You Netgalley.

3 thoughts on “WRONG NUMBER by Carys Jones *Release Day*!

  1. As an ex-actor, I can’t read fiction that ignores layered character development. To me it’s like watching shallow acting. I *have* to care about the characters or there’s no compelling reason to keep reading.

    But then, these days I read mostly non-fiction – neuroscience and books in my niche (Executive Functioning related), not the Homeland Security you favor. I’d have nightmares with that reading, I’m sure – if I slept at all.

    Like you, once a book enters my home it never leaves – which is relatively unheard of for a person who has relocated as often as I. Only a *few* of my college texts have moved along, even, and that was decades ago. I haven’t owned a television for decades either, and bookshelves are my best friend. I lust after Belle’s library – actually have an entire board dedicated to beautiful and unusual libraries on Pinterest.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

