December 1st and that #Blogmas thingy

horsesinthesnow

Picture Perfect World….

So, thank you to Lindsay over at homehugshuskies.wordpress.com for explaining what #Blogmas is! It isn’t Krampus, so I love the idea of sharing a bit of your own personal holiday memories.

I did not grow up with snow. I never saw snow until I went off to college. And it was nothing like the movie White Christmas! I remember hearing my sister calling my name one morning, telling me to hurry, it was snowing. Oh we were so excited!

Bear in mind this was North Dakota and we were deep southern Georgia girls. We opened the door and ran barefoot in our jammies into the snow. And right then and there I found out there is nothing romantic or song worthy about snow. For the next 3 years I cried every night to my Daddy that I had frostbite and I was going to die in this frozen wasteland. Β He was not impressed. It may all look pretty from the window, but no, I don’t want to play in it or drive in it or shovel it.

I got out of there as soon as I could. Back to shorts on Christmas and being able to ride the bike you got instead of waiting for the Spring Thaw ( which could be in June) and happiness.

My Momma retired to North Dakota. I know, I know…I am stumped on that one. And on Wednesday in one day they got over 20 inches of snow!!! That’s just crazy.

So Good Luck to you Northern Folk toughing it out up there just South of the Wall! Β  Winter is Here!

xxP

 

15 thoughts on “December 1st and that #Blogmas thingy

  1. Haha, I totally understand the new (to snow) girl. I went from never witnessing much more than a aggressive frost to spending a Winter in Russia. OH MY GOD WHAT IT THAT STUFF ON THE GROUND.
    Having said that, I do think there is plenty romantic and song-worthy about snow. I feel genuinely happy when I am wrapped up in my coat and it’s snowing around me. Can’t explain it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

