A Pirate’s Life…October Edition

Now that this Pirate has her vision back, the entire Pirate Nation is happy and content. My boys are doing well in the Post Season, Football is a toss up on the college and NFL fronts. Who knows what’s going on. Hockey and Basketball is on and I realize I may need 2 more televisions to keep up with all my teams. Which brings me to my Aha moment of the month.Football, American Football, Sport, Ball

I’ve been sort of sidelined with the eye situation so I’ve become addicted to Hoarders.How to deal with hoarder homes. Strategies and tips for clearing, organizing, and maintaining homes with excessive amounts of stuff.:

If you have been living under a rock, this show goes inside the homes of Hoarders and tries to get them to throw their shit out. And we aren’t talking a collection of National GeographicΒ or newspapers. No these folks hoard everything from receipts to animals, some in the freezer dead. Now, obviously these folks have mental health issues so no judging on that. But it did make me take a long look at my life and ask myself why I keep some of the things I do.Fashion, Hat, Hatstand, Png, FreeSunglasses, Glasses, Sun, Sun Protection

I can’t throw away magazines or books. Ever. If you ever wrote me a letter or card, it’s still here. It just seems rude to throw those things away. Shoes….forget it. I have never thrown away a pair of shoes. If it’s older than dirt or was given to me by a family member, whatever it is, I have it.Magazine, Newspaper, Open, Opened

The book and magazine issue was easily solved. Donate to the Library! Not every book….I can’t do that. Especially the signed copies. Shoes….just let it go. But I did clean out my desk and get rid of those 10 year old receipts for a weed eater I don’t even have anymore.

We live in a big box store world. Sam’s Costco, Wal-Mart….they all encourage us to buy in bulk. Seriously who needs 40 rolls of toilet paper. It’s not like you have to hitch up the wagon and go into town for TP anymore. There is usually a market close enough to your house that you can pop in every now and again to get some supplies.

A friend has challenged me to the 1 year of living simply. And after she told me I could keep all of my shoes/handbags/jewelry/clothes, I agreed. I have to stick to a budget, I made a Needs vs. Wants list. So we shall see how this goes! Any helpful tips will be appreciated.

Typography Print Motivational Wall Decor Keep by TheMotivatedType: xxxP

13 thoughts on “A Pirate’s Life…October Edition

  1. I’ve heard of a tip where you put certain things in a bin, and if you don’t open that bin for a year (there’s a date you write on it), then you just donate all the stuff in it. It might have been on an episode of Hoarders! I love ❀️ that show but it also makes me feel better about my slight hoarding tendencies, lol!
    Good luck with living simply!

    Like

Leave a Reply

