Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

I have read every one of Mr. Coben’s books. I have never been disappointed in any of them and I eagerly look forward to the next one.

I did not expect what was inside of this book, however!

The jacket description: Former special-ops pilot Maya, home from the war, sees an unthinkable image captured by her nanny cam while she is at work. Her two year old daughter playing with Maya’s husband, Joe- who was brutally murdered two weeks earlier. The provocative question at the heart of the mystery : Can you believe your own eyes, even when you desperately want to?
To find the answer, Maya must finally come to terms with deep secrets and deceit in her own past before she can face the unbelievable truth about her husband and herself.

It has been a rough time for Maya. Serving in the war, her sister’s murder while she was away and now that she is home, her husband is murdered. When a friend brings her a nanny cam, disguised as a digital picture frame, she can’t imagine she will see anything except the nanny caring for her daughter, but what she sees sets a series of events in place that I never saw coming. As she tries to make sense of what she has seen, everyone around her becomes suspect. Who knows what? And what does her husband’s death have to do with her sister’s death? Why does it seem Maya is leaving a lot of bodies in her wake?

Talk about dysfunctional families! I think I was suspect of every character at least once! But I never, ever saw that ending coming! I think this is one of the best Mr. Coben has written yet!

I think I walked around for hours saying ” Oh my God”, until my partner said, ” Please give me the book now!!” Thank you Mr. Coben!

7 thoughts on “Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

Leave a Reply

