Do you know the difference?

Terms of Reference: What is the difference between and Indie author and a Self-Published author?

I get asked this question quite a bit, and while I’ve done my own research on the differences, I think author Jerry Beller answered my questions the best.

I’ve taken his views and my own and have come up with what I think explains things in a pretty simple way.

The Self-Published Author: Really this is any author who has published a book at personal expense.

The Author/Publisher: You are a writer who is making a living publishing your own work.

Trade Publishing: These are businesses that license publishing rights from authors and handle the publication in return for a percentage. These include the Big Five: Penguin/Random House, Hatchette, Harper Collins, Simon & Schuster and Macmillan.

Indie Press: Any small publishing company that commissions books from authors and publishes at the company’s expense.

Publishing/Author Services: You have lots of options here. Services can handle all or some parts of publishing at the author’s expense.

Indie Author: You are basically your own Creative Director responsible for your own publishing choices. What ever you feel is appropriate for your book.

Hopefully this clears up a few things about how authors get their books out there.

Now that you are all informed, it’s time for a few rants!

The First One:Β  Stop yelling at me to buy your book. Stop paying money to people to yell at me to buy your book. It is annoying and it doesn’t work.Β  It used to be pretty simple to find a new read, then every person who could type started thinking they could write, flooding the market with mostly junk.

The Second One:Β  If I follow you on Twitter or FB, it is because I enjoy your art in whatever form it comes in. However, if you are one of those people who belong to a service that instantly DM’s me telling me how to find all of your work, I will un-follow you. I am on social media to have discussions about literature, art, music with real people not computers.Β  Stop with the #FF. If you include me in any of your #FF, I’ll un-follow you.Β  There is no prize for having the most followers!

The Third One:Β  If I read your book and review it, don’t ask me to lie if I didn’t like it. It means nothing if you had your mother, brother, sister or writing partner write a review of your work. Honesty in Reviews has got to start with getting rid of the Star system. I hate using it and try not to. I’m not rating your book, I’m reviewing it and telling you what I enjoyed about it.Β Β  You can tell I enjoyed it if I put it on my blog. Otherwise I’ll do the Amazon and Goodreads review since I probably received an ARC copy and that’s it.

There are some very good Indie books out there and I will always push those forward. The same with Indie music or art.Β  But let’s have some integrity and honesty in the process. Stop with all of the Freebies, giveaways and flooding of our social media sites with crap.

Thank you to Jerry Beller, Author and Champion of the Arts and Artists!

9 thoughts on “Do you know the difference?

  1. I understand your rants. Though I do have one automatic dm in Twitter, I don’t do it more than once. And though I’ve only asked if people were interested in reading, I never push and I hope that I don’t come across that way. I don’t see the use in #ff but sometimes I’ll do it in return if someone mentions me. Social media is a strange place. Irregardless, I do value everything you share here.

    Like

  2. I can’t count the amount of writers that DM me on Twitter to read their book, connect with them on FB (which essentially means like their page), check out their blog and on and on. My reaction is always the same: Excuse me? Did I message you asking you to read my book or blog or like my Facebook page? And have you any idea how many of my 12,000+ Twitter followers are authors? What if they all asked me to do the same thing? I’d spend my entire life liking Facebook pages and reading blogs, not to mention having a reading list long enough to last two lifetimes. Every Indie book I’ve read (and there are a lot) have been read because 1) it’s a genre I enjoy and 2) the author’s promotions have been compelling. On to the subject of reviews. I’m with you there too, Patricia. Though because I’m not a book reviewer, If I don’t like a book written by an author associate or I think it’s poor writing, I simply don’t review it. Now that I’ve finished my rant – great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

