Scarlet Memories Vol.2: Metamorphis by Jessica Ozment

 

Metamorphosis is the second book of the Scarlet Memories books.

Sam and Ian have now been confined to Atlanta’s CDC for over a year being experimented on by the government in hopes of finding a cure for the zombie outbreak that has taken over. Kept in the dark and tired of being used they decide to find a way out. But they aren’t the only ones looking for a way out and when the opportunity arises to go they take it.

It’s been over a year since they’ve seen the outside world. Will they make it? Where will they go? Can they outrun the hideous creature hunting them? And why exactly is he hunting them? Is anyone to be trusted?

Ms.Ozment has given us characters that we quickly become invested in. They are vulnerable and afraid but they just keep going, it’s hard not to cheer for them. There is a lot of action and twists and turns and I definitely did not see the ending coming

I honestly thought I had had enough of zombies and wasn’t interested in any more of them. But this book doesn’t focus on the zombies, but instead focuses on the characters. Their thoughts, their fears, what they are willing to do for each other to find out what is going on and to protect their little family. I enjoyed it so much I read it twice. Once I started it I couldn’t stop, I raced through, so I read it again slowly and came to the same conclusion. This is good!

I highly recommend this book and can’t wait to see what is next from this author.

Leave a Reply

