The Romantic by Felix Alexander

I was given a copy of this book in return for an honest review. I don’t read Romance novels. Ever. I think watching my mom and her friends exchange bags of Harlequin Romance books every month turned me off. And as I got older, reading them was just to kitchy. When I saw the cover of this book, I was hesitant. After the first couple of pages, I was not. This book is labeled a romance, but it is so much more than that. The characters become the best of friends as children and as that friendship grows into love for Hadriel Alighgieri, he is reluctant to profess his love to Sophia Paula and when he finally does, she flees. The story takes us through their entire lives, each one not sure if telling the other will ruin the special friendship they share over the decades. This isn’t a typical lighthearted, romp on the beach romance with a Fabio look alike and heaving bosoms. This book is about real people and real emotions. The characters are well developed and intelligent. When the Angel of Death gives Hadriel a little more time to find his one and only true love, then we find out what was behind all the decisions that each had made and why. The poetry is beautiful and the writing is pure. If this is the new Romance book, then I’m in all the way. But I’m not sure this should be classified as a Romance book. For Romance and Love are two different things. I read it twice, and even read some parts out loud to friends and they just sighed…and said, now that is love.

Leave a Reply

