A Rant

Not a book review today.  Just some things that have been bothering me and so of course I have to share. It’s what I do.

At dinner last night I noticed that everyone, and I do mean everyone except the wait staff, either had their phone right by their plate or they were either texting, checking their social media or reading a book.

We are becoming a culture of non-verbal communicators.  What bothers me is that a text is interpreted by the person receiving it. I have to wonder, is he being sarcastic? Funny? What does he mean?  When you have a conversation with someone face to face, their are always voice inflections, body language and other non-verbal cues that get the point across much better than a text.

As Human Beings, we crave social interaction. We aren’t a solitary species. We need the sound of a voice we love, the touch of a hand, the smile on a face.

Social Media, texting, twittering, it’s all impersonal, it could or could not be the truth. So last night I sat down and wrote someone a letter. Filled with colorful detail and all the things that I can’t say in 140 characters or less, or spend a whole day texting someone to catch up on their lives.

Everyone is so busy on their devices that they are failing to see what is going on all around them.  I don’t know the answer to this, but I have a feeling that it’s not going to be good in the long run.

Today, put your electronics away and really Talk to someone. It could change someone’s entire day.

Thank you and I’ll be here all week if you have any questions…

Leave a Reply

